My Travel Diary: Edinburgh

This post was planned weeks ago but exams and Christmas came in the way... But better late than never I guess!
 
I'm back home from Edinburgh and it's time to conclude my trip! I had never been to Edinburgh or Scotland before and I LOVED IT! Even though it reminded me of England it was completely different. We spent 3 nights in Edinburgh and we stayed at the Britannia Hotel West End. The hotel was nothing fancy or extra ordinary but it was a bed to sleep in and breakfast in the morning. It was actually the only hotel availabe relatively close to the city centre during our stay so we didn't have much choice haha. But it was super cosy since we lived in the "old part" of the hotel and not in the recently built part. 
 
 
On the night we arrived we also went to a really nice pub called The Grosvenor on Shadwick Place which was only a 5-8 min walk from our hotel. The perfect distance after traveling the entire evening (our flight was of course delayed...). 
 
 
The first day we spent Christmas shopping! We were all very excited for Primark since we don't have that in Sweden. And I will admit that I spent a bit more money then planned haha. But the highlight of the day was the evening as we went on a ghost tour around the city! It was so interesting! I learned a lot about the horrible history of Edinburgh. This was my first time doing a guided tour (except at like museums with school when I was younger) and I will totally do it again! I doesn't have to be expensive either. In fact, the tour we did was free but we of course paid tips at the end since we really liked it. The tour started on the Royal Mile and took circa 1hr 15mins. 
 
 
On day 2 we decided to explore the area around the Royal Mile some more. One of our favourite discoveries was a super cute vintage shop called W. Armstrong & Son. If you want to see more of the shop, check out the video below! The area where the vintage shop is located is called Grassmarket and of course there was a market as well. Not very big but so cute!
 
 
One of the highlights of this day was our visit to Greyfriars kirkyard. Both Sandra and I are big Harry Potter fans so obviously we had to visit Voldemorts grave. Definitely a must-visit if you are a HP-fan! Hope you like this very touristy picture of me next to the stone haha.
 
 
That same day we also walked up to the Edinburgh Castle and oh my gosh the view from up there! Beautiful! But waaaaay too many people for my liking. There were people EVERYWHERE. Not a big fan. We didn't go inside the castle this time but if I visit Edinburgh again I would love to. 
 
 
On the last day we visited the Christmas Market again and it felt so nice getting into the Christmas spirit. There was mulled wine, hot chocolate, handy crafts and many other things. I bought a hot chocolate and a hand made wooden lantern for my mum for Christmas (she really liked it!). This concluded our trip to Edinburgh as we traveled back home the day after. But before we went to the airport we hade some time to visit the National Museum of Scotland (they have a roof terrace with a panoramic view over Edinburgh!!!). Big recommendation if you visit Edinburgh! 
 
 

If you want to see the entire trip in a video, you're in luck! I made a video for my YouTube. If you like it, don't forget to like and subscribe HERE. Also don't forget to follow my adventures over on Instagram! @strokeofadventure 
 











Remember me?
WELCOME!
Stroke of Adventure is a travel related blog, Instagram and YouTube-channel. Stroke of Adventure was founded with the purpose for me to share my adventures (both big and small), tips and other things related to travel.

SOA is written by me, Mie, and I'm a 20 y/o traveler, student and photographer from Sweden. You can read more about me if you click "About me" in the top menu.

Welcome to Stroke of Adventure. Come travel the world with me.

Enjoy your reading!