How to: Afford Traveling

Traveling doesn't have to be expensive but it sure isn't for free. I love to travel. A lot. And I'm a student which means I'm not rich, at all. So how do I afford it? Let me break it down to you. 
 
Me in front of the Eiffeltower on my first ever solo trip in 2015!
 
SAVE SAVE SAVE
 
This is the obvious answer but it's hard to save up a great amount of savings if you don't have a great income to begin with. But still, do your best. Put aside a small amount each salary and slowly but surely they will add up and become a bigger amout. I found this great 12 week savings plan over at FITnancials that you could follow or you can make your own plan. The important part is that you begin somewhere. I also try to sell clothing and other stuff I don't use anymore online. It might not make me a millionare but it's always something. My cat recently broke a toe and had to go into surgery (those vet bills were NOT cheap) and I had to dig in to my travel savings but you know what? It doesn't matter if you have a set back, YOU ARE TRYING!
 
CHANGE YOUR SPENDING HABITS
 
Don't by coffee on the go, make it at home. Bring lunch to work instead of eating out. Don't buy things you don't need or won't use. A little goes a long way and you will be surprised how much you can save each month just by changing a few things in your everyday life.
 
READ MORE: Traveling on a budget
 
I took a disposable under water camera to Cyprus with my cousin in 2014!
 
SET A REALISTIC GOAL
 
This is very important for this to work out. It's very unlikely that you will save up $2,000 in a month because you obviosly need to live as well. Don't skip out on paying your rent just so you can go to Italy or what ever haha. NOT a good idea! Instead, set a realistic goal. Maybe save $100 a month or more if you can afford. Start with small amounts, this will take time. 
 
GET A JOB
 
Hopefully, you already got one. BUT if you want to go that extra mile and speed things up a bit you can always get another job. It might be hard to balance two jobs at once so my advice is to head over to the internet. Maybe you are an awesome photographer? Sell your images online! You're an excelent writer? Do some freelancing! There are even websites like Italki where you can sign up as a online teacher and teach your language to students online! You don't have to be at two jobs at the same time, but instead of watching a whole season of Riverdale on Netflix you can earn a few bucks. As I said earlier: a little comes a long way. 
 
READ MORE: Travel mistakes to avoid
 
Traveling alone to Madrid in 2016!
 
MAKE TRAVELING A PRIORITY
 
If you're not 100% commited it will never work and you will dig into that bank account and use that money for other things. Don't do that except in case of emergency (TB to my cat that I mentioned earlier). If you really want to travel you will make it work, even if it means that you will have to live very cheap for a while. I promise, it will be worth it in the end!


Wanderlust by Jona    •  

Such an awesome post! Good job!

Svar: Thank you! :)
strokeofadventure.blogg.se










Remember me?
WELCOME!
Stroke of Adventure is a travel related blog, Instagram and YouTube-channel. Stroke of Adventure was founded with the purpose for me to share my adventures (both big and small), tips and other things related to travel.

SOA is written by me, Mie, and I'm a 20 y/o traveler, student and photographer from Sweden. You can read more about me if you click "About me" in the top menu.

Welcome to Stroke of Adventure. Come travel the world with me.

Enjoy your reading!