AIRPORT MISTAKES & HOW TO AVOID THEM

Airports! A place you either love or hate. Personally, I really like airports, mostly because I really like to sit and watch people. That sounded really creepy but there's something facinating about watching people getting trough their day. When I'm at an airport I like to sit and watch people and try to guess where they're going; business trip or a sunny holiday? I might never know but I really like it! For others airports is just conected to stress. But to help you relieve that stress I present to you common airport mistakes and how to avoid them!
 

 
BEING TOO LATE
 
I know that sometimes unplanned things happen that makes you late but try as hard as you can not to be late to the airport! You don't want to miss a flight and have to reschedule just beacuse you were too lazy in the morning. Rescheduling can be expensive and totally unnecessary if you were on time in the first place. 
 
BEING TOO EARLY
 
The exact opposite of being too late. Being several hours early is just no fun. Yes, it does take some time to get trough security, passport controls and finding your gate but it doesn't take 5 hours. Arrive with a good amount of time to spare, bring a book to read whilst waiting or go grab yourself a meal. You have plenty of time, but you don't have to spend the entire day at the airport. 
 
NOT PREPARING FOR SECURITY
 
Before I started to travel more regulary going trough security was the biggest thing causing me stress (and it didn't help when they checked my bag for drugs on my first ever solo trip to Paris only 17 years old!). Remove your belt, empty your water bottle and pack your liquids in a plastic bag before getting in the security line. I usually travel with a lot of camera gear and electronics such as my laptop and chargers so I try to gather all electronics in the same bag so when it's time for security it's easy to unpack and re-pack afterwards. 
 
 
READ MORE: HOW TO AFFORD TRAVELING
 
NOT CHECKING IN ONLINE
 
Always check in online before arriving at the airport! By doing this you don't have to stand in line to a check-in desk or maschine and will therefor save a great amount of time. By checking in online you usually can choose your seat before all the best seats are taken. Bonus tip: If you are two people flying together, book the window seat and the aisle seat chances are that no one wants to sit in between you and you will have to entire row to yourselves!
 
NOT WEIGHING YOUR BAG AT HOME
 
Overweight baggage can be extremely expensive, make sure you haven't packed too much. Enough said. 
 
Me traveling to Madrid alone back in 2016! I'm glad I've updated my photography skills since then haha!
 
READ MORE: TRAVEL MISTAKES TO AVOID
 
NOT TAGGING YOUR LUGGAGE
 
This goes for both checked luggage and carry-on. If you or the airline accidently lose a bag it's very difficult to get it back if there's no name and/or phone number on it. It's better to be safe than sorry in this case. Also, take a quick photo of your luggage before checking it in, in case the airline lose it, this will help them identify it and get it back to you faster!
 
NOT BRINGING A PORTABLE CHARGER
 
The outlets at the airports are usually already taken so bring your own charger, that way you don't have to rely on the ones at the airport. 
 
NOT TAKING PUBLIC TRANSPORT TO THE AIRPORT
 
Parking your car at the airport is expensive but some airports even charge to get in to the drop-off zone. Save yourself the money by taking public transport to the airport. It's also great because you don't have to remember where you parked your car haha, which is always a struggle for me!
 

Pin this post for later!
 
 
 
 
 











Remember me?
WELCOME!
Stroke of Adventure is a travel related blog, Instagram and YouTube-channel. Stroke of Adventure was founded with the purpose for me to share my adventures (both big and small), tips and other things related to travel.

SOA is written by me, Mie, and I'm a 20 y/o traveler, student and photographer from Sweden. You can read more about me if you click "About me" in the top menu.

Welcome to Stroke of Adventure. Come travel the world with me.

Enjoy your reading!