FIVE WAYS TO BE A TOURIST IN YOUR HOMETOWN

I grew up in several places but the small town of Landskrona in south of Sweden with approximately 30,000 inhabitants is what I call my hometown. You might have grown up in a similar town and still live there or like me; moved away. I realised after I moved that I really don't know that much about my actual hometown. So everytime I go home to visit my parents I try to explore a bit. Right now I'm home for a couple of days before I head off to Greece so I decided to make the most of it and explore something new whilst I'm here. I can't be the only one that sucks at exploring my hometown, are you the same? So to boost your interest in your hometown here are five ways to be a tourist in your hometown. 
 
#1 Visit the local museum 
Almost every town has some sort of a museum with history of the said town. I have visited the local museum in my hometown several times and it has really given me more understanding of the history of my hometown. It also made me feel closer to my relatives and ancestors since I can now understand what it was like for them to grow up in the same town as me. Many local museums also have free entry!
 
 
#2 Go on a city tour
As I wrote in my guide to Copenhagen; I recommend everybody to go on a city tour. You might think that it sounds boring and that you already know everything about your city. But I bet you don't. Last summer me and my parents did a tour around the castle in Kalmar (where I live now) and even though I lived in Kalmar for quite some time now, I learned a lot! Next time I come home to visit I hope to have some more time to do a tour around my hometown. 
 
#3 Stay at a local hotel
Have you ever stayed at a hotel in your hometown? Probably not. Get the whole tourist experience by acting like a tourist. Get a room or rent a local AirBnB even if it's just for a night! 
 
 
#4 Get outdoors!
If you really want to be a tourist in your hometown you can't stay indoors. Get outdoors and do things that your hometown offers. Does your city have mountains or amazing nature? Go on a hike or rent a MTB and explore the surrondings for a day. It doesn't have to be expensive or in the city centre. 
 
#5 Take photos
You can't be a real tourist in your hometown if you don't take cheesy tourist photos in front of tourist spots. Bring a friend and visit all of the tourist spots in your city. Don't miss out on them just because you happen to live in that city. 
 
 
I hope this inspired you to get out and experience your hometown as a tourist! I know I'm definitely going to make a better effort to experience my hometown and my surroundings. I realised whilst looking on my harddrive for photos of Landskrona that I don't have a lot, I need to get out and shoot my hometown more often! It would be fun if you would like to share ways that you explore your hometown in the comments! Now I'm going to move on to packing my last things for Greece, can't wait to go. Hope you've had a great weekend! 
 

Don't forget to pin this post for later!
 
 
 


Emma    •  

vilka roliga tips :)










Remember me?
WELCOME!
Stroke of Adventure is a travel related blog, Instagram and YouTube-channel. Stroke of Adventure was founded with the purpose for me to share my adventures (both big and small), tips and other things related to travel.

SOA is written by me, Mie, and I'm a 20 y/o traveler, student and photographer from Sweden. You can read more about me if you click "About me" in the top menu.

Welcome to Stroke of Adventure. Come travel the world with me.

Enjoy your reading!