Byrums Raukar, Öland

Hi! I actually left my apartment for something other than going to work och going to the vet (my cat broke a toe haha!) this week. I hopped into my car and drove over to Öland which is an island on the east coast of Sweden. I'm very fourtunate to live 5 mins away from the crossing bridge but I can count the times I visited on one hand. So when they called from work and asked if I wanted to take a day off I said HELL YES! And planned an adventure. My plan was to drive up to Byrums Raukar and hike and take some photos. Raukar is a Swedish word for a special stone formation which is formed when relatively softer rocks at beaches are eroded by the surrounding sea and a harder limestone core remains. Look at the pictures and you will understand! I've never seen them IRL and I wanted to. I drove the 1,5 hrs there and was greeted with a storm and -3ºC meaning that it was very cold! So I didn't hike as much as I planned but I still got some nice photos. 
 
 
Everything was covered in ice and I had to be extremely careful not to fall over even with my hiking boots on. But it still looked beautiful and I got there just in time for sunset which made the whole experience so much better! In these pictures you can see what I meant with the rocks, they've all been formed by the ocean which is pretty cool if you ask me. 
 
 
Do you explore the place where you live often? I'm a big believer in "exploring my own backyard" but I don't do it enough! A personal goal for 2018 must be to explore the city I live in and it's surroundings more. I've only lived here for 1,5 years and I've not seen nearly enough. There will definitely be another trip over to Öland soon.
 











Remember me?
WELCOME!
Stroke of Adventure is a travel related blog, Instagram and YouTube-channel. Stroke of Adventure was founded with the purpose for me to share my adventures (both big and small), tips and other things related to travel.

SOA is written by me, Mie, and I'm a 20 y/o traveler, student and photographer from Sweden. You can read more about me if you click "About me" in the top menu.

Welcome to Stroke of Adventure. Come travel the world with me.

Enjoy your reading!